Friday, February 4, 2022

Mini Review : Satyameva Jayate 2 (Amazon Prime)

Directed by : Milap Zaveri

Gandhiji ki hamesha jai ho, lekin Bhagat Singh mera banda hai.


Two twin brothers, Satya and Jay (John Abraham) fight against corruption and injustice against common people or women in their own ways. 

Over the top superhero level action, ear bleeding dialogues, patriotism presented in absurd possible manners and songs coming in at any random moment.. Now, multiply these by three times, thats the exaggeration limit this film crosses. 

There's a scene where the cop Jay is fighting a eve-teaser at some Independence event and suddenly national anthem starts running making our patriot guy stand silently while the guys are hitting him (why didn't they aim for his head, Oops Thor fans). Or the father of Satya and Jay, Dadasaheb (also John Abraham) is fighting guys in hospital with one hand while other is transferring blood to his wife. I seriously don't know how writers write this crap. 

We get to see 3 John Abraham, and all are so resembling to each other, like they have the same personality and ofcourse same physical looks, doesn't matter if one is a home minister or a farmer or a cop. The less said about Divya Khosla acting the better. 

Not gonna waste more time, almost every scene can be ripped apart. Some films are so bad that they work as comedy, but this one is a plain torture. And whosoever liked this film, I am sorry I am gonna judge you for your taste. 

My Rating : 0/10 

Wednesday, February 2, 2022

Movie Analysis : Shershaah (Amazon Prime)

Directed by : Vishnu Vardhan

Main tiranga lehra ke aayun, nahi toh usmein lipat ke aayunga.. lekin aayunga zaroor haan. 


Spoilers ahead ... 


Based on the life of Captain Vikram Batra (Sidharth Malhotra), a brave Indian Army Officer who got awarded with Param Vir Chakra for his courageous actions during the 1999 Kargil War. 

Felt like the cue given to the director was, go somewhere in between Border and URI. As a result, Shershaah isn't melodramatic but it doesn't keep entire focus on war either.  I do like how they show Vikram Batra philosophy when facing enemy, always ready to take them down at cost of his own life though it also results in situations where he puts others and civilians lives in danger. However, I wish they showed more about Vikram, surely his personality wasn't limited to this. 

His equation with parents or for that matter twin brother is never given importance and its hard to understand why they hide his brother face who is the narrator like we don't know about it. 

Two particular war scenes I loved, one was where Vikram leads team to catch terrorist Haider which does give you a dejavu of 'Zero Dark Thirty' capture of Osama to some extent but I will still take it. Other was the strategised mission where the code name of Vikram was 'Shershaah' that happens in two parts and you wish he didn't insist on going for the 2nd one or he would had been alive but then such is life. 

One good thing is there's no unwanted caricature Pakistan characters or jingoism shown to please audience. Liked the use of real footage of Vikram where he tells about how he responded to the warning of Pakistani while climbing the hill. Also, use of Atal Bihari Vajpayee speech part was almost a given. What the film does lack however is building up the tension through use of media scenes or even whats going at the other side on Pakistan streets.

I couldn't really love any actor playing role of senior or junior to Vikram, not because they acted poor but they just got very little screen-time to make any sort of impact. Then, there's that unwanted scene where one is talking about his daughter to Vikram, and you can't help but feel they are gonna kill him very soon, again the point is what's the need of this scene or this particular story!

Vikram-Dimple romantic plot was touching, emotional but with flaws. Major issue was the cringy punjabi dialogues they speak which spoils the otherwise very good chemistry Sid-Kiara have here. There's a cute moment when Vikram is for first time noticed by Dimple and how he reacts after that feeling very delighted. And their final scene works lot more because as a viewer you know it will be their last face to face talk which they don't know then. However, I wish the manipulative 'Kabhi tumhe' track wasn't inserted there. I did love the use of 'Ranjha' track which is my personal favourite from the album beautifully showing the love between Vikram and Dimple. And that is a reason why 'Raatan Lambiyan' track was also misplaced and should had been edited out. 

Won't say Sidharth Malhotra was perfectly casted, but he did a fairly good job at playing Vikram Batra, meanwhile Kiara Advani is adorable and shines when she gets the chances like the burst out scene at her father telling she would marry no one else if not for Vikram. 

I didn't cry at any scene, but did feel moved by the post Vikram death scenes with the song 'Mann Bharryaa' making a great impact. I always feel that whole ceremony how its carried out ends up evoking strong emotions. 

Despite all the mentioned problems, Shershaah is still a good movie, it just isn't what I was hoping for after all the hype. Maybe Vikram-Dimple angle or for that matter Vikram Batra bravery itself deserved a far better movie. 

My Rating : 6/10 

Tuesday, February 1, 2022

Movie Analysis : Mimi (Netflix)

Directed by : Laxman Utekar

Hum jo sochte hai woh zindagi nahi hoti hai, hamare saath jo hota hai woh zindagi hoti hai. 


Spoilers ahead... 


Mimi Rathod (Kriti Sanon), a small town girl from Rajasthan has big dreams of making it big in the Bollywood industry of Mumbai. She is running out of patience from the small amount of money earned through regular dance shows. And enters Bhanu Pratap Pandey (Pankaj Tripathi), a driver who offers Mimi to act as surrogate for an American Couple, John-Summer (Aidan Whytock - Evelyn Edwards) and in return get a heavy sum of 20 lakhs. Everything is going as per plan until the American couple backout and run away back to their country. 

The premise tries to tackle surrogacy and single parenthood to some extent mostly through light humor and succeeds for most of the 1st half. It is the 2nd half where the overdose of melodrama specially the final 30 mins where the narrative derails with very minimal humor. The issue with a film tackling serious topic in a comic manner often is that most of the times you may not actually feel for the characters the way you would want in the emotional scenes. Same happens here, the end is predictable and I was hoping actually they won't go the 'American Couple' returns back to get their child which unfortunately they do. 

Another main issue is how the struggle of Mimi is quickly shown through a montage kind 'Rihaayi De' track, you just don't get to see her go through it. Again it has to do with probably how light they wanted the film to be, which as a result has effected the film. 

While 'Yaane Yaane' and 'Rihaayi De' were great to listen to, you can feel this isn't Rahman at his best at all. 

Few of comic scenes really stand out, like one where Mimi tells her parents that Bhanu is her husband, and the epic chaos scene later when Bhanu's real wife and mother visits Mimi's house. 

Kriti Sanon does deliver a great performance, probably best of her career so far, as even when the writing is falling apart she holds herself in many scenes, and you can feel her anger towards the American Couple or when she scolds a random bike guy for almost hitting her child. Pankaj Tripathi is spot on yet again, his comic timing is out of the world, his scene with maulvi made it hard for me to control my laughter. Even in the serious scenes with Kriti he is a treat to watch. Also, special mention to how foreign actors looked part of the film rather than looking jokers like mostly happens in our films. 

Sai Tamhankar as Mimi's best friend and Sheikh Ishaque Mohammad as one of Mimi's father's student were other notable performances. Manoj Pahwa and Supriya Pathak were totally wasted, it almost felt like they were the most convincable parents to live on earth. 

Mimi is a good watch, entertaining 1st half but it just needed a better treatment and writing to avoid all the hiccups it has specially in the 2nd half. 

My Rating : 6.5/10

Sunday, January 30, 2022

Quick Views on 2021 Films I Didn't Review - Part4

Spoilers ahead... 


Is Love Enough? Sir
Directed by : Rohena Gera

Log majaak udayenge. 
Mujhe koi fark nahi padta.
Mujhe padta hai, Sir. 


A young high society living man Ashwin (Vivek Gomber) falls in love with his servant Ratna (Tillotama Shome) who is widow and wants to be a fashion designer. Easily one of those movies that could go in various cliche zones and end up doing no justice to the tabooish relationship if you can call it that which society/relatives wont accept. But here, that doesn't happen, wonderful performances by leads especially Tillotama Shome who gets a full fledged role and she shines right through it very convincingly. The conversations Ashwin and Ratna have are fun to watch, but its what they don't talk about gives the mood of the movie extra edge. And love the ending on a hope of maybe there's more to their story. 

My Rating : 7.5/10 


Saina 
Directed by : Amole Gupte

Game jeetne ke liye tum kya karti ho yeh important nahi hai, important hai ki game jeetne ke liye tum kya chorhti ho.


A biopic based on famous Indian badminton player, Saina Nehwal. When the trailer released, I was oddly happy and excited, not because it looked like a proper biopic but it felt like 'entertaining hogi'. I was so wrong and clearly misread the trailer. I never liked Saina Nehwal, mainly because I started watching badminton when she was on decline and now she is almost over. So, I missed her glory days. Coming back to the film, the narration is total cliched, showing journey of Saina from a kid to national level and finally success playing for India. With a sports biopic, you want something new.. even those who don't watch badminton won't find anything 'wow' feel because you are just showing the rise with montages of winning matches. What were other options then? Show the equation between coach Rajan (Manav Kaul) and Saina (Parineeti Chopra) in detail, instead Rajan's character felt so cringeworthy at times as if he wasn't happy for Saina doing well. It didn't help that Parineeti strangely looked out of touch, I expected her to nail the acting part because looks wise she definately wasn't the right choice, Shraddha fitted it to the tee. The romantic angle of Saina and Kashyap was very meh too. The actor playing mother of Saina, was very hammy much like the Yograj Singh of Bhaag Milkha Bhaag, yet I did like the scenes involving her and Saina. I don't think I enjoyed a single match shown with camera angles and not enough drama induced major culprits. To cut the long story short, Saina is easily one of the most forgettable biopics ever, they even failed to use the very motivating track 'Parinda' properly. And I couldn't care to check how much they used real scores of tournaments, and how much they fictionalised, because the film never generates interest to research.. Sigh! 

My Rating : 3/10 


Roohi 
Directed by : Hardik Mehta

Your rashee? Personality se toh Leo lag rahi hai tu. Gussa bahut aata hai tumhe. 


Pakdaai Shaadi is famous in Bihar where the bride is kidnapped and forced to marry the guy who loves her. Working in this business are two friends, Bhawra Pandey (Rajkummar Rao) and Kattani Qureshi (Varun Sharma) whose boss Guniya Shakeel (Manav Vij) orders them to kidnap Roohi (Janhvi Kapoor). After some complications they do manage only to be told to keep Roohi safe somewhere until the new formed circumstances are settled. The twist comes when they find out Roohi is possessed. Unlike everyone else, I didn't feel bored by this film, specially the Afza (name of spirit) angle with Kattani was hilarious and that 'Saagar' track was very well put in. Varun Sharma's comic timing was on right track and also enjoyed Rakummar chemistry with him. Janhvi worked for me in the Afza role, not much as Roohi though. What spoils the movie is the lazy 3rd act, all the chudail or dog marriage angle and even the climax was more of finding a way to finish unlike stree where it made you think for good. Still an entertaining movie in parts for me. 

My Rating : 5.5/10 


Pagglait 
Directed by : Umesh Bist

Agar hum apne faisle khud nahi lenge na, toh doosre le lenge.. phir chaahe woh humhe pasand ho ya na ho, toh phir kuch toh badalna hoga na.


About Sandhya Giri (Sanya Malhotra) who becomes a widow just after some months of marriage. The usual 13 days of mourning happens with most of the family gathered around, only odd thing is that Sandhya doesn't show any kind of sadness, which makes her question her own attitude very much like others in the family do. With actors like Ashutosh Rana, Sheeba Chaddha, Raghuvir Yadav, Jameel Khan and Rajesh Tailang in the supporting cast, there is always quality acting on display along with lead Sanya. Its just the message this film tries to deliver in the 3rd act or should say final part of the act, comes way too late. Some of the subplots could had been avoided specially the husband and Akansha Roy (Sayani Gupta) angle felt didn't make any impact and stretched a lot. As a social drama there's lot to take in here, from the traditions of funeral that last 13 days, usual family drama, taunts, hints of open-minded family trapped in the society prejudices and then insurance money angle. We get some dark comedy specially involving Sandhya's hilarious reactions to facebook comments, craving for various food and a doorbell that has Dirty Picture's 'Oh la la' song. Its all about Sandhya slowly realizing what she must do before she gets stuck in this mess. Its also a take on women in India, most of them won't follow Sandhya's decision, and as she herself says, either she can change her fate or let people decide it. Its slow going, but if you can manage till the end, you may not regret watching the film even if its still a one time watch, bit too lighthearted to my liking. 

My Rating : 6/10


Ludo
Directed by : Anurag Basu

Kam paiso mein khush rehna mushkil hai, par jyada mein impossible. Soch sahi hai madam, zamana galat hai. 


The game of Ludo is used as a metaphor as 4 stories are shown, Yellow belongs to Akash Chauhan (Aditya Roy Kapoor) who goes on a road trip with ex-girlfriend Shruti Choksi (Sanya Malhotra) because a sextape of their past has gone on a porn site. Red belongs to Bittu Tiwari (Abhishek Bachchan), an ex-criminal bonding with a little girl Mini (Inayat Verma) who has faked her own kidnapping, the story is inspired by Kabuliwala. Then, there's Green for Alok Kumar Gupta (Rajkummar Rao) who has been in a one-sided love with Pinky (Fatima Sana Shaikh) since school days and even now when she is married with a kid, he is helping her set her husband free from jail. Finally there's Blue for a sales guy Rahul Awasthi (Rohit Saraf) who is constantly abused verbally at workplace, meets a Malayali nurse Sheeja Thomas (Pearle Maaney) who also gets made fun of for her different dialect, they both get hold of plenty of cash that could change their life. Sattu bhaiya (Pankaj Tripathi) plays the role of 'dice' who decides the fate and luck of all the characters involved, he's the local don.

Much like the game that's slow and becomes interesting moment other tokens come close to snatch your place out, same is case with film as first 30-40 mins are taken to set up all the 4 stories. Totally loved the use of 'Arre o babuji, kismat ki hawa, kabhi naram, kabhi garam' song many times in narrative. Pankaj Tripathi stands out, a character he has played a lot and yet he brings out something fresh and enjoyable again. His scenes with the nurse Lata Kutty (an excellent Shalini Vatsa) are hilarious. Also, Rajkummar Rao is in excellent touch with the mimicry of Mithunda, the way he would go in a corner and cry everytime Pinky comes to ask for help, or his idea of dancing out the excess emotions, simply hilarious. Aditya-Sanya story I liked but the chemistry was a major letdown here. While Abhishek Bachchan puts off a great act, just felt the story needed more of Mini in it. Rohit Saraf and Pearle Maaney gives most laughs, getting in many unwanted chaotic scenarios, making their story most interesting. Pritam's music is another plus, and a lovely climax. Little too long but Ludo works and entertains despite its share of flaws, its still a film that you would enjoy watching just like most of Anurag Basu films. 

My Rating : 7.5/10 


Lootcase
Directed by : Rajesh Krishnan

Aakhiri baar pooch raha hoon, yeh suitcase kiska hai. 


Working for a newspaper printing press Nandan Kumar (Kunal Khemu) leads a routine normal middle class life with wife Lata Kumar (Rasika Dugal) and son Ayush (Aryan Prajapati). One night on way to home, Nandan comes across a suitcase full of cash, and his life changes all of sudden as he plans to hide the money and use when required. But little does he know, there's MLA Patil (Gajraj Rao), corrupt Inspector Madhav Kolte (Ranvir Shorey) and a gangster Bala Rathore (Vijay Raaz) all after the suitcase. Kunal Khemu as I have stated in past is one of most under-rated actors in present industry, and his comic timing again gives plenty of laughs specially the 1st act where he keeps falling in situations of getting caught, the fake calls he makes in autorickshaw while bringing suitcase or how he drops out at wrong location trying to be smart, and all the chinese food references with his wife. Rasika Dugal is in great form too with a typical housewife kind remarks all the time. Its the 2nd act that slows down the proceedings, some songs inserted, and very less shown about MLA Patil or Madhav or Bala. Vijay Raaz does bring a smile to face with a very laidback references to animal NatGeo channel during every conversation. Lootcase for me has a great 1st act, an average 2nd act with occasional laughs and a better final act let down though with the final shootout scene. But you never really feel bored due to the great starcast, and their comic timing bringing good laughs.  

My Rating : 6.5/10 


Haseen Dilruba
Directed by : Vinil Mathew 

Pagalpan ke hadd se na gujre toh woh pyar kaisa.. hosh mein toh rishtey nibhaaye jaate hai.


Set in a fictional Jwalapur, Rani (Taapsee Pannu) is the prime suspect along with her lover who is also her brother in law, Neel (Harshvardhan Rane) for the murder of her husband Rishu (Vikrant Massey). Its a very weird film unless you see it through the point of view of Rani who narrates the entire story to the police inspector Brijraj (Daya Shankar Pandey) which is equivalent to us knowing the story even if its unreliable and can't be fully trusted. The setting is completely off a pulp novel, whose references Rani herself takes endless times through 'Pandit ji kehte hai'. There's a hot sexy wife who gets married to inadequate husband, and then enters a handsome brother in law she lusts for. Such themes are common in the railway stations bookstalls where you may find such novels, specially the smaller cities. That is one reason I was able to take the tone knowing what the intentions clearly are. 1st act is hilarious, including Rishu's mother Lata (an excellent Yamini Das) whose reaction to bahu's regular pallu drops would make you smile or her anger for getting a daring bahu than the susheel one she was hoping for. Also, Rishu-Rani chemistry makes for an interesting watch because you can see they are poles apart from each other in their personality or for that matter taste too. 

I also like how they use food, once tea to bring Rani-Rishu closer having drifted apart, and then the mutton biryani which Rani actually made for Neel but has to serve to Rishu while revealing to him about her love for Neel. The transformation of Rishu is immense too, how from a deep soft lover he turns into a raging husband wanting to hurt and see Rani bleed kind of guy. Vikrant Massey is marvellous in achieving that without any hint of weirdness, you easily buy it way he acts. Even the toxicity in those portions didn't make me feel cringy or for that matter how Rani is willing to let him hurt her. Taapsee Pannu act works wonderfully, a tailor-made role for this character that is bold, outgoing and yet a girl who is willing to adapt for love. Infact there's almost everything to love in the flashback story, its good they keep Neel part shorter, otherwise he would had been my weak link. The 3rd act is where you would either love the film or call it meh! I was kind of in between, there's lot of coincidences happening, rushed up climax and yet that final shot and dialogue made me enjoy what just happened. And since the setup is based on the tone of those roadside crime novels, it would had been a sin to have a routine normal ending. Special mention to the writing of Kanika Dhillon, she was fabulous in Manmarziyaan too. And I love 'Mila yun' track a lot more after watching the film. Haseen Dilruba will surely receive different verdicts from people, for me it was a very bold attempt that works largely, only hiccups were portions of 3rd act and the length that is little too long.

My Rating : 7.5/10 

Thursday, January 27, 2022

Quick Views on 2021 Films I Didn't Review - Part3

Spoilers ahead... 


Citizen Kane
Directed by : Orson Welles 

You don't care about anything except you. You just want to persuade people that you love them so much that they ought to love you back. Only you want love on your own terms. Something to be played your way, according to your rules. 


The last word spoken by newspaper tycoon Charles Foster Kane (Orson Welles) was 'Rosebud' as a group of reporters try to decipher the context behind it. A film considered iconic and often used in teaching at many film institutes or academies. Yet, I found it very over-rated, the story is very straightforward, routine rise and fall of a person with some relationships drama and a friendship angle. Not a film hard to sit through like 'Mank' was, there is enough going for you to feel engaged, its just I was expecting something special. I have seen some reviewers suggest its a film you should give more chances, so if possible I will do that. For now, I have to rate it low. 

My Rating : 4.5/10 


Collective
Directed by : Alexander Nanau 

When the press bows down to the authorities, the authorities will mistreat the citizens. This always happens, worldwide, and it has happened to us. 


A crime documentary at its best that covers the October 2015 Bucharest nighclub 'Collectiv' fire incident leading to 27 dead people and 180 injured, but what followed was the bizarre deaths in hospitals owing to poor hygiene, corruption, incompetent health minister, and the politics at play. What is really good to see is how right journalism could help bring justice even if its for a short period. You can easily connect to the journalist who feels like a lone hand against a powerful bunch of government yet he never shies away from talking truth and seeking answers. And you also feel for the new health minister, who clearly wants to follow right procedures but is almost at political pressure all the time. The film could easily be compared to our own setup, whether its the press vs govt where the govt is rarely questioned or be it the Covid angle where our own health minister was often giving stupid statements. In short, there's plenty to takeaway from this movie, that tells the history about Romania event but is a running commentary on how its the case in many other countries too where citizens life mean nothing and media plays a key role in helping government run their agenda. A bitter truth shown through this well made documentary. My only complaint is that journalist role I felt got sidelined in the 2nd half, would had liked more of his scenes, I totally enjoyed his direct hard-hitting questions posed at press conferences.

My Rating : 7.5/10 


The Cabinet of Dr Caligari
Directed by : Robert Wiene

Now I also know how to cure him. 


Hypnotist Dr. Caligari (Werner Krauss) uses a somnambulist Cesare (Conrad Veidt) to commit murders. Its a 1920 released film, ofcourse black and white, and I am guessing this is the oldest film I have seen ever. More than the horror, what is really interesting is the engaging story and the 3rd act very much blows your mind. To make you think and ponder for a movie released in that era, has to be some achievement. Though the expressionism style is new for me, and it took me a while to adjust, my main issue was no dialogues made the impact less, at times I wanted them to speak something. For the budget and creative restrictions around that time, you have to applaud the effort and how appealing the film turns out. Good luck if you are able to predict what the climax the story is heading to. 

My Rating : 7/10 


Soul 
Directed by : Pete Docter & Kemp Powers

You can't crush a soul here. That's what life on Earth is for. 


Joe (voiced by Jamie Foxx), a middle school music teacher who has passion for Jazz and dreams to make it big in the industry finally lands himself a gig of a lifetime. But in excitement he falls down a manhole and next moment he sees himself heading in a line to some blue colored wierd looking place learning its where souls go in the afterlife. Pixar studios deliver another terrific animation movie, not only its so good on the animation, lovely background and various beautiful loving characters it gives us, but the message the movie is trying to give, that you must live every minute of your life and rather than having purposes or sparks its about enjoying the little things that could be a simple sunset or hello from a person you like or anything in daily routine. There are many lighthearted fun and silly adorable moments to enjoy too. The pairing of Joe and 22 (voiced by Tina Fey) is fantastic, the way 22 makes fun of Joe's life citing he has done nothing worthy than live a robotic life or how Joe helps 22 find the spark she never knew she had with her hatred for Earth. I totally love 22's scenes with barber, Joe's Mom, Connie (one of Joe's student at school) and when in awe listening to guy singing at metro station. Also, film explores the moment 'when you are in the zone' and pursuing dreams/passion over regular career.  Soul comes very close to my top fav animation movies, 'Inside Out', 'Zootopia' and 'Coco'.  

My Rating : 8/10 


The Father

Directed by : Florian Zeller

I feel as if I am losing all my leaves. The branches and the wind and the rain. I don't know whats happening anymore. 


Anthony (Anthony Hopkins) living with his daughter Anne (Olivia Colman) starts to suffer from dementia and it keeps on getting worse. Another take on how losing memory slowly can be nothing less than horror for the person going through it. Infact for the entirety you feel for Anthony and also never sure if what he is saying/watching is real or just his imagination. At times you feel frustrated because there doesn't really seem to be any cure for it. Anthony Hopkins expectedly gives a performance to remember that got him the Oscar, even enjoyed his act in 'The Two Popes' previously.  Also, lovely supporting performance by Olivia Colman. Its not a easy film to watch, at times gives feels of very depressing tone but its quality cinema at its best, so give it a go. 

My Rating : 7.5/10 


Don't Look Now 
Directed by : Nicolas Roeg

He has the gift. Even if he doesn't know it. Even if he's resisting it. Its a curse as well as a gift. 


John Baxter (Donald Sutherland) and Laura Baxter (Julie Christie) arrive in Venice, been just some months to the loss of their daughter when she drowned accidentally. Both of them still recovering from the grief of losing daughter so young with John having taken up restoration work of a Catholic church. They end up meeting two sisters, Heather (Hilary Mason) and Wendy (Clelia Matania) at dining, where one of the sister who has psychic abilities suggests she can see their daughter in afterlife with an important warning for them. Don't Look Now is a terrific film when it comes to creating horror through chilling atmosphere, using city and the passages wonderfully, well done music and keeping you guessing with an added plot of a random serial killer creating havoc at same time in the city. John's incapability to make use of his own psychic abilities or sixth sense is what the entire story is about, and also eventual reason to where he lands in that unpredictable final scene. The only hiccup for me actually was the famous sex scene everyone talks highly of and some too extreme closeups. Donald Sutherland and Julie Christie chip in with great performances, its a slow art-feels movie, a genre that works very less for me but I enjoyed it a lot.

My Rating :  8/10 


Godzilla : King of the Monsters 
Directed by : Michael Dougherty 

Sometimes, the only way to heal our wounds is to make peace with the demons who created them. 


Five years after the last movie events, the story moves to a Russell family. After death of their son, Mark Russell (Kyle Chandler) leaves behind wife Emma Russell (Vera Farmiga) and daughter Madison Russell (Millie Bobby Brown). Emma works for Monarch, an agency that deals with these huge creatures that are to be destroyed or protected as per situation. Emma finds out a device that would help communicate with these creatures and control them. There comes our villain Alan Jonah (Charles Dance) and there's not much to keep track of after that, but this happens right at first scene! Except for the lovely Dr Ishiro Serizawa (Ken Watanabe), there's not a single human plot that you would remember once the movie ends. Have to admire Ishiro though, this dude simply loved Godzilla to the core. Talking of Godzilla, for those fans that had issue with him getting very less screen time in last movie (as I said then, I preferred him being less in film) would be happy, there are numerous fight scenes, so much that I had to anxiously wait when this will end. The supporting characters irritate, even Millie has a nothing role. Vera is confusing, unsure which side she is until the last scene heroics. I just didn't enjoy the movie at all. 

My Rating : 3/10


Godzilla vs Kong 
Directed by : Adam Wingard

Godzilla. Not. Enemy. Please.. be careful. 


Monsterverse has Godzilla pitted against King Kong, its almost as good a battle as say Batman vs Superman (sorry superhero fans if I offended with that odd reference). But you gotta be stupid if you believe that Godzilla and King Kong won't get on the same side after initial fight. There's the expected human conspiracies but unlike the last film, there's some human connection here which was a huge respite. Jia (Kaylee Hottle) who can interact with King Kong gives some touching scenes including the one where she warns Kong to remember who the enemy is (Hunger Games style, oops another wierd reference). To be honest, I was never keen for the Godzilla vs Kong fight scene, but its very engaging when it does arrive, they do film it very well. One question however that crossed my mind was, while enjoying these creatures help mankind in their ways, aren't they still causing so much destruction all around or maybe I shouldn't be thinking too much in what is a fantasy sci-fi film. I still prefer the 2014 version of Godzilla, but this one for most parts was fun to watch. 

My Rating : 6/10 


The Vanishing 
Directed by : George Sluizer

You start with an idea in your head, and you take a step.. then a second... Soon, you realize you are up to your neck in something intense, but that doesn't matter. You keep at it for the sheer pleasure of it. For the pure satisfaction it might bring you. 


Rex Hofman (Gene Bervoets) and Saskia Wagter (Johanna ter Steege) are a young couple on vacation, driving in France as they stop at a petrol station. Saskia goes in to buy some drinks at the busy service station, and disappears. Its been 3 years when Raymond Lemorne (Bernard-Pierre Donnadieu) who abducted Saskia, tries to get in contact with Rex. The movie basically does a deep character study of 2 individuals, one is Rex who is obsessed to know what happened to Saskia, so much that he keeps visiting the place Raymond asks him to come to through postcards in these 3 years, even his current girlfriend feels his feelings for Saskia will never go off and then the big leap/risk (or stupidity as some will call) he takes with drinking the coffee. Other is Raymond, who looks like a normal guy among the crowd but is a very cold blooded sociopath who since childhood has been testing himself, one of the event being where he jumps off a window telling himself its predestined that no one jumps so he has to go against the destiny, and other event when he saves a drowning person getting labelled as hero by his daughter and now he has to prove himself that to be called a hero he must prove to himself that he isn't capable of doing something very evil. The director sets up both stories wonderfully, Raymond is mostly told through flashbacks. I personally don't feel Rex made a wrong decision, yes it lead to his death but thats better than living a whole life where he won't have made peace with the fact that he never came to know what happened to Saskia. I mean yes as a viewer you would say that she must have died is the easiest answer and move on, but for that person its not as simple as you would feel it is. Totally enjoyed the act of Bernard, yes the ending is shocking not because you can't predict it coming but more because you know these kind of people exist in reality. Its fun to see the detailing they show how he reaches to the point where he tries to abduct Saskia, with all his chloroform, scream tests and the funny awkward moments he lands himself into while learning to be a pro in kidnapping. If you wanna see the themes of obsession and a psychopath, what happens when they meet each other then this film would work for you. I still however didn't understand the eggs dream part, maybe in future watch. 

My Rating : 7.5/10


The Woman in the Window 
Directed by : Joe Wright

I don't know, I am just not made that way. I wish to God I could, believe me, but I can't. Everyone else can move on, I can't. 


Seperated from her husband and a young daughter, Anna Fox (Amy Adams) a child psychologist lives all alone in her Manhattan brownstone apartment with a tenant living in the basement. Having agoraphobia, Anna never steps out of her house. She develops interest in her new neighbours, the Russell family specially after the son and wife come over to meet her. The spying from Anna results in her witnessing murder of Jane Russell (Julianne Moore), but can Anna be trusted or is she going through hallucinations with the overdose of alcohol and the depression she's been handling for a long time. Firstly, its a story done many times, hell even our own hindi films did a wonderful take through Radhika Apte starrer Phobia (watch it if you haven't yet) . The starting is engaging, despite the plot not so new.. you like Anna feel eager to know more about Russell's and if what she saw really happened. The hiccup comes very early, that long conversation scene of Jane and Anna somehow felt very odd and fake to me, maybe its the dialogues or how its filmed or the situation because its the only time they would talk together. But the main issue is the final act, and how poorly they use Gary Oldman in an almost nothing role. Also, it doesn't help when you see cops almost wanting to not believe Anna at all, like not giving a 1% chance even. I mostly love Amy Adams performances, but this one is very forgettable, mostly because its just a very average film, not much scope for her to do anything special and also its a role (not ditto, but similar shades) she has played a lot offlate, prefer it more in 'Sharp Objects'.

My Rating : 3.5/10 

Sunday, January 23, 2022

Quick Views on 2021 Films I Didn't Review - Part2

Spoilers ahead...


Saint Frances
Directed by : Alex Thompson

If you had the choice to never exist at all or to have the exact life you are having now, would you have chosen to be born? 


Bridget (Kelly O'Sullivan), a 34 year old gets herself job of nanny to a 6 yr old girl Frances (Ramona Edith Williams). The plot is basically just that, we get to see lovely friendship form between Bridget and Frances with very little cliches used. And also the sub-plots, involving Frances lesbian moms, Bridget's unexpected pregnancy, her equation with parents and rest is just the routine dull life trying to get better out of it. Both Kelly and Ramona give some of best scenes in the movie, their conversations are fun and nice ending too. Just one of those lighthearted dramedy that you won't regret watching. 

My Rating : 7/10 


Better Days 
Directed by : Derek Tsang

If you weren't the bully, then you were being bullied.


Based on a 2 day national college entrance exam in China known as Gaokao, but at core the story is about school bullying. Its a topic that always makes me react lot more, even if I personally never got bullied to the extent it happens in this film. I mean the strip scene was hard to watch or the constant threat of getting bullied making main lead Chen Nian (Dongyu Zhou) so scared that she is hardly enjoying going to school anymore. Love the introduction of small time criminal Xiao Bei (Jackson Yee), and how he protects her like a shadow. Have to admit, even the cliched romantic relationship development worked for me, although I would still have preferred focus staying on the bullying part more which kind of feels like backdrop in the final 30 mins when it all becomes a murder mystery plot all of sudden with themes of sacrifice and deep love. A good film nonetheless whether you like the last act or not. 

My Rating : 7.5/10 


Dick Johnson is Dead 
Directed by : Kirsten Johnson

It would be so easy if loving only gave us the beautiful. But what loving demands is that we face the fear of losing each other. That when it gets messy, we hold each other close. And when we can, we defiantly celebrate our brief moments of joy. 


A documentary drama where the daughter Kirsten Johnson helps her father Dick Johnson prepare for the remaining life shooting some of possible ways he could die. Ofcourse most of those death sequence are hilarious, yet its a film that didn't click to me, it was partly fun and some moving moments but never quite got the attention out of me I felt it might for the plot it was covering. Decent one time watch. 

My Rating : 5.5/10 


Sound of Metal 
Directed by : Darius Marder 

If I disappear, like, who cares? Nobody cares, man. Seriously. Yo, and that's okay. That's life. That's life. No, for real. Okay? It just passes. It just fucking.. fucking passes.


Ruben Stone (Riz Ahmed) is a heavy metal drummer but his life turns upside down when his already deteriorating hearing ability worsens. On request of his girlfriend/lead singer Lou (Olivia Cooke) he joins a small deaf community run by Joe (Paul Raci). Some wonderful scenes between Joe and Ruben, from the introduction when Ruben is very reluctant to be part of Joe's setup. The entire film is basically about if Ruben is willing to accept that its okay to be deaf, and he can still live a happy life without feeling being handicapped. We get to see Ruben's cold reactions, and desperation to give it a try, forming some new bonds. I am not questioning Ruben's decision, every person can't go through the transformation which he clearly fails at. But its a pity that he does go the other way, was heartbreaking to see final few scenes where he does realize he cannot undo his hearing disability.  Riz Ahmed with an absolutely wonderful performance, I was hoping he would win Oscar. Also, brilliant sound design in a film thats shown from the point of view of Ruben for vast proportions making you feel his pain even more at times. Very good supporting acts by both Olivia Cooke and Paul Raci. Definately a film to watch. 

My Rating : 7.5/10 


Palm Springs 
Directed by : Max Barbakow

'So, this is Today. Today is yesterday. And tomorrow is also today.'
'We kind of have no choice but to live. So I think your best bet is just to learn how to suffer existence.'


Two wedding guests, Nyles (Andy Samberg) and Sarah (Cristin Milioti) get stuck in a one day time loop. Its a fun movie and doesn't follow the cliched route associated with such rom-com usually. Love when Nyles and Sarah decide to totally enjoy the time together after Sarah learns there's no way out of the time loop. Also, Nyles mimickry of his current gf is fun, and the cameo of Roy (J.K Simmons) is well done too, I somehow got reminded of that army guy in Jumanjee, very similar sudden appearance Roy has wanting to kill Nyles all the time. Another film that you must watch. 

My Rating : 7/10 


Another Round 
Directed by : Thomas Vinterberg

What is youth? A dream. What is love? The content of the dream. 


Martin (Mads Mikkelsen), Tommy (Thomas Bo Larsen), Nikolaj (Magnus Millang) and Peter (Lars Ranthe) are 4 high school teachers whose life both professionally and personally has been dull and going no-where, and just then one of them suggests consuming alcohol daily in small proportion to see how it could lead to a positive change, based on a theory from Norwegian philosopher. Its a fantastic movie that doesn't really go one-note on alcohol consumption, we do see how it can break your life if taken in overdose and also how the results vary as per individuals, so don't mistake the film as something that would inspire you to alcohol because it very much shows the drawbacks too. Mads Mikkelsen is just awesome, and any talk about this film would be incomplete without that famous final scene where Mads dances on the addictive track 'What a life', if ever I list my top cinematic experiences then this scene will definately make it. Another Round works not only for the many fun light hearted moments, or the commentary on the danish drinking culture but also is very moving in many places specially the final scene involving Martin and Tommy. Again, do watch it. 

My Rating : 8/10 


Never Rarely Sometimes Always
Directed by : Eliza Hittman 

Can't stop doing things for him. He's got the power of, power of love over me.


Autumn (Sidney Flanigan) living in rural Pennsylvania seeks medical help after an unintended pregnancy. She gets the much needed emotional and financial support from her cousin Skylar (Talia Ryder) as they go on a quick secret bus trip to New York City. Its a strange film, sort of documentary style not in the way its shot but the time-span it covers. Basically if you leave first 15 mins aside, the story is about the 2 days trip of Autum and Skylar, with very basic or at times no dialogues. The backdrop kept is mostly male dominated with females treated badly or treated more like objects by men when we see how girls are given payment by boss with kiss on hands or how Skylar has to make out with a guy just so he could help with bus trip money. My issue rather was that I felt they overdid the trip plot, there was a case of developing both Autumn and Skylar characters through either more dialogues or their flashbacks. But then again, I still liked the film for what it is, and the 'Never Rarely Sometimes Always' scene when it comes it does hit you hard. Also, like the song sung by Autumn in very first scene.. setting up the mood of her character and what way the film will head. Its not a film for everyone, I do feel personally girls should connect easily even if they find it slow. 

My Rating : 6.5/10 


The Man Who Sold His Skin 
Directed by : Kaouther Ben Hania

Do you know what's worse than being part of the system? It's being ignored by it. 


Sam Ali (Yahya Mahayni), a Syrian refugee meets Jeffrey Godefroi (Koen De Bouw) in Lebanon offering him a job where his back would be used as form of art for his museum. Another strange film, that I can label not my kind or just clicks in parts. I like scenes involving Sam and his love Abeer (Dea Liane), them trying to be together but circumstances don't let it be. Or the scenes having Sam and his family. The entire museum angle unfortunately felt odd and not executed well enough to my liking. Even the climax felt more like a copout for a happy ending. 

My Rating : 4/10 


Quo Vadis, Aida?
Directed by : Jasmila Zbanic

Do you think we are safe here? I don't know anywhere else we could be safe if not here. 


Based on the war in July 1995 Bosnia, when Serbian army took over the small town of Srebrenica as the citizens look for shelter in the UN Camp. Aida Selmanagic (Jasna Djuricic) who works as a translator for the UN gets to know about the negotiations and developments as she has to do her professional duty and also help her family stay alive. Very well directed movie that keeps you on the edge, firstly for the horror of the war on normal citizens and then knowing Aida's family is very close to death. You feel for every person that goes in that theatre hall, knowing well in advance what fate they are gonna have. Basically, the story presents how war destroys life of normal citizens for no fault of theirs. I liked the film whether or not it was fully true to the actual events, can't really say. 

My Rating : 7/10 


Wonder Woman 1984
Directed by : Patty Jenkins

Sometimes you can't see what you are learning, until you come out the other side.


An ancient artifact that grants wishes leads to risk of destruction of world because it lands in hands of a very greedy businessman Maxwell Lord (Pedro Pascal) and Barbara Minerva (Kristen Wiig) who wants a lifestyle like Diana Prince (Gal Gadot). Nolan's movie not working didn't hurt me much as Wonder Woman 1984 being bad did. The greed angle is so overdone that it felt like writers didn't have anything else to go to but just play out how much greedy human can go. I would had liked Barbara going more evil too because I felt Kristen Wiig played it really well but again the writing spoils her part. Its sad to see Pedro ham so much, even Chris Pine scenes don't bring the humor it did in earlier movie. Yes Gal Gadot has some scenes to shine but thats not enough in the end. Total disappointment after finally having a franchise in the DC Universe you thought might turn out to be really good. Not to be.

My Rating : 3/10


Saturday, January 22, 2022

Series Analysis : You (Season 3) (Netflix)

Directed by : Silver Tree (5 episodes), John Scott (2 episodes), Pete Chatmon (2 episodes) and Sasha Alexander (1 episode).

I can't completely cage what's inside of me, or, when it bursts out, it comes for blood. Better to feed it just enough to keep it in check, keep it on a leash, take it out for walks, but make sure it knows the rules.


Spoilers ahead... 


Joe Goldberg (Penn Badgley) who is now a father to Henry (yes not a daughter as he wanted), lives with wife Love Quinn (Victoria Pedretti) in a new place called Madre Linda (does this place exist? Because I quite love the vibe with the name). Now, question is how long before Joe goes to his patterns and will he be stopped because Love is his best match.. or will Joe change, becoming a father can do wonders sometimes!

Season starts with a bang, because we are teased into 'Oh no, there goes Joe in same.. 'you are the one' territory'. But as expected, due to Love the pattern gets broken right at end of Episode1, and we get early killing. This is exciting because we know Joe no longer loves Love, when he came to know the real 'Love'. But its tricky situation, knowing the childhood Joe had, he won't want Henry to have no Mom. 

Joe interactions with Henry are fun, cute and nice to watch.. because there's always a human side to him no matter how much you try to hate him which you rightly should. I am happy they didn't overdo calling Henry as 'Forty' because even it was getting irritating to me. It does play well with the Love's arc who has plenty going inside her head, and Forty being one of her most softer emotional spots whom she can't let go away even after killing him. 

The initial episodes explores beautifully how Love handles Joe's obsession for new partner, and Joe handling Love's impulsive killing attitude. I totally adored the couple therapy session interlinked with Joe-Love clearing the crime scene of their 1st murder after becoming parents and how they can't tell the actual reason to psychiatrist but find ways of accusing the other one using all kind of references. 


The new additions are always a risk in any ongoing series, the friend circle of Love was the weak-point in Season2, but here the Madre Linda people that get involved with the life of Joe-Love mostly worked for me which is a very big plus for the episodes where Joe-Love story take a backseat. Sherry Conrad (Shalita Grant) initially is a very irritating character, very double faced and I loved how Love makes fun of her in her mind like the vomit emoji, and her husband Cary Conrad (Travis Van Winkle) is even a bigger wierdo. Yet Love's efforts to be friends with Sherry slowly builds that character more in the future scenes involving marriage swinging and getting caged where they fully come out. I won't say I ended up liking them even at the end, but atleast a part of me was happy they didn't die. Also, special mention to the 'Woods' episode of Joe and Cary, my reactions while watching it were similar to how Joe felt being part of those rituals, and I couldn't help but laugh when I thought 'Did Joe actually just kill Cary with a push?' 


Dante (Ben Mehl) was another character that I liked, he didn't have much screen time but plays key part and ofcourse someone Joe could trust to keep Henry safe. Marienne (Tati Gabrielle), Joe's new 'You' was a mature character and yet her chemistry with Joe never felt convincing. I have no idea why, whether it was because of been invested so much with Beck and now Love, or because in my mind I know this is just another of Joe's new obesession and nothing more, not the 'Yes you are the one, you are perfect for me' theories his mind keeps playing for him. Tati Gabrielle (she was very good in Sabrina show too) plays the character wonderfully because even us can't read her easily like is the case with Joe. Infact I still don't know whether she really meant it about the toxicity with Joe while having conversation with Love or it was her strategy to escape the death. 

The middle episodes were less engaging because it deviates away from Joe-Love, focusses on Joe getting social with Cary having adventurous jungle weekend trip. Was funny way he reacts to the therapist telling him to find friends and not have wife to be only person to share everything with, and Joe is like 'who the hell is worth being friend to in Madre Linda'. There's the Love-Theo (Dylan Arnold) angle where Theo gets serious for Love, and making me worried because that only means death at hands of either Love or You, nevertheless I enjoyed this plot. Two key scenes, one where Theo is so in love he wants to get a video proof of Joe and hand to Love so she can file domestic abuse, and the other when Theo learns about Conrads in the cage, the expression on both Theo and Love is priceless, one is still mad in love not realizing yet what Love will do, and on other hand Love is angry and gutted knowing she will have to kill him now. 


Also, I liked that the father of Theo, Matthew (Scott Speedman) unlike the first few episodes where it felt he accepted the truth of Natalie (Michaela McManus) and won't do anything, rather goes all out secret office spy act on every person in Madre Linda, I expected more still in the finale than just rescuing his son and same the case with the detectives who are yet again no match for Joe or even Love. There's good use of Joe's childhood shown in almost every episode, just tiny scenes everytime involving him at a foster home and Nurse Fiona (Kim Shaw) who is also going through a abusive relationships. 

Some other issues I had was, the whole measles episode felt forced, like it was inserted due to covid, only positive coming out of it was Gil (Mackenzie Astin) getting into the cage as Love learns to atleast half control her impulsive nature. Then, theres the scene where Joe attacks Cary openly outside house, with Matthew who is using all cameras still not get anything? And also, when Joe kills Ryan (Scott Michael Foster) its very open.. again no one sees or no camera gets it.. thats writing trying to be too much in support of Joe. 


Its tough for me to say who is more bad, Love or Joe, in comparison yes Love is more but as humans they both are similar, which is why they are a pair made for each other even if they had no love feelings mutually anymore. Both make mistakes, go on affairs, killing wise it was clearly Love who would murder instantly while Joe will wait until he had no other option whether it was with Ryan or eventually Love. Its fun how little trust they have for each other, having the spare key hidden in the cage in case one of them turns other inside. 

If Joe didn't meet Marienne, would he still had felt Love is the problem in their marriage, because for a while it did feel he was back in love with Love, or its a case of Joe who just isn't your 'forever' kind guy. And I am not shying away from the fact that Love goes the same route too, she isn't faithful and has clear instant crush for Theo which she acts upon much later. So the point is still the same, who would you blame more, Love or Joe, or should they both had accepted each others flaws and stayed together just for Henry, maybe thats asking for too much! That brings me to one of very wierd love making scene I ever saw. They both just put Conrads in cage and then make out right outside there, and Joe perfectly sums it up 'Our love language is violence'. Just what I was saying earlier! I also wondered how come Love didn't see Joe different attitude or performances in bed or the 'too much busy in work' as maybe there's someone else.. or did it have to do with Love herself dealing with so much that it got too much for her, maybe last time she got better of Joe because he just didn't knew who the real Love is, this time around he was watching his steps. 


Victoria Pedretti again delivers a power-packed performance, she just can never let you down. Watch her expressions every time she feels she is being betrayed, her face totally changes, like during the swinging scene she can see its not her Joe is thinking about while watching his face. Her impulsive attitude often brings hilarious scenes where Joe is the one seen doing the damage control job. The confrontation scene with Joe in the finale is awesome, Victoria totally nailing with those frustrated, angry, disappointed with Joe expressions, and yet you know the impulsive her might do anything now to Joe. Or her reaction to mom's outburst telling she is spoiled and its not the bad parenting as the reason. Also, in some selected episodes, she looks so gorgeous too specially the event at Library or when she is seductively trying to work her magic on Joe. I am being biased but seriously why would Joe not love her. 

Meanwhile, Penn Badgley continues to work his magic despite having some repeated patterns, which I had said in previous season too that it doesn't bother, you just love to see how he manages this time. I have to say his voiceover specially is fun to hear when he is telling what he is thinking about the situation to us only. Also, its good to see him kind of have the backseat for most of the season, he still has his patterns but there are changes to it, there is the careful approach knowing Love is basically worst version of Joe, and not to forget there's the son Henry to be always kept safe. Infact, this is a season where he does good things a lot, doesn't frame Mathew for murder of Natalie, avoids killing Theo to name a few. Penn very much manages to keep you on the edge, you are (or atleast I am) still rooting for him, no reason otherwise to be still watching Season3. I really love the scene where Joe has to clear a crime scene and also at same time have a arguement with Love firstly on why kill someone, and then where did she hide the bodies in last season. The expressions of 'what in the hell made me fall in love with this lady' clearly on his face, and he knows this will happen many times more when he sarcastically tells her for next 30 so years he will be erasing her kills. 


Creepiest moments have to be when Joe and Love are digging up the grave with Henry in a stroller not facing them but having a laugh. Or when Love is making some breakfast while checking footage of cage from her mobile if Conrads are doing fine, some multitasking that. Talking of multitasking, how about Joe cleaning crime scene making Henry busy watching some cartoon and Joe's expected words 'this is the last time Daddy is doing this'. And when Joe tells Love, what equipment he had used to dispose off a body in last season, actually more than creepy this one felt very gross.

Final 3 episodes are as good as the starting ones, keenly waited for the confrontation scene in the finale, to see who comes out winner, Joe or Love or are they gonna re-unite and start a fresh which would mean plenty more deaths. Its great to see Love ahead of Joe in her thinking, only to be pulled back because Joe was very smart to know what Love had always been planning. Yet, I was somewhat disappointed, maybe because by now I am too fond of Love's character and how brilliantly Victoria Pedretti again played it. Wasn't there a case of either of Love or Joe going jail, rather than Love getting killed.. I mean the ending very much felt like dejavu of Season1, even Joe in his voiceover refers to the end he gave to Love is better than Beck. 

I am hoping, the fact that they avoid showing Love's body catch fire, is some hint that maybe Love had her PlanB going too or if Marienne didn't actually leave and helps Love out in time before whole house is burned. Even if she is dead, and these theories don't turn true.. I seriously hope S4 goes some new territory, whether its with Joe's past murders catching up with him or a new character that sees what Joe is and plans to get him arrested, more of Love of S2 minus the love angle. 

Its a very consistent series, having enjoyed all he seasons so far. I personally think there's atleast 2 more seasons possible without getting repetitive. 

My Rating : 7.5/10